2013 – Will Thirteen Prove Lucky?

All my readers – Wish you and your loved ones a happy, prosperous and peaceful new year. I hope that 2013 will prove lucky for all of you.

Big thanks to all of you for your faith and commitment to my blog and making it a success.

Of course, you must be wondering how we did last year. The blog had 99,121 page views. Damn! Missed the six figures by a few hundreds. I missed the target so no bonus for me. I shall not go on a shopping spree today.

Seriously speaking, the reader statistics are amazing. In 2011, the blog had 51,556 page views. In 2012, the number has nearly doubled, as was the case from 2010 to 2011. I wrote 71 new posts in the year, and now there are 242 posts in the archive. Majority of the readers are coming from India, US and UK. What is simply awesome is that during the year, visitors came from 184 countries. Wow, I can’t even list so many countries. It is a time to celebrate! I shall again aim at doubling the numbers in 2013.

Let me share a couple of tips that I learnt during the year with my fellow bloggers. Hope they help you out.

1. Be Original

The most popular posts for 2012 were the ones in which I viewed an old subject from a different lens. Putting different perspective to things, challenging the status quo and discussing new topics makes the posts popular. For instance, the most popular post of the year – “Why auditors fail to detect frauds?” I challenged the basic expectation that auditors are more capable than others to detect frauds. Look at the top five and see for yourself.

a) Why Auditors Fail To Detect Frauds?

b) Adidas India Euro 125 Million Fraud Story

c) Fraud Symptom 12 – Unethical Compromises by External Auditors

d) Highlights of Ernst & Young India Fraud Survey 2012

e) Re-branding Risk Management and Audit Function

2. Write Research Posts

Research posts have a long life as these help readers. For instance, the posts that I wrote in 2010 and 2011 are still getting hits. Here are the top five old posts that were hugely popular in 2012. Write posts that last over a time.

a)    Pre-employment Background Screening Verification Program  July 2010

b)    Impact of Organization Culture on Internal Controls October 2010

c)     Risks of Doing Business in India  September 2011

d)    Mother Teresa – An Inspiration For Social Responsibility  August 2010

e)    Risk Management Strategy of Virgin Group November 2010

I hope you had a good time reading the blog. Your feedback is valuable; please share with me to make this blog better.

I dedicate to all of you Whitney Houston’s “One moment of time” and once again wish you a very happy new year.

2 comments on “2013 – Will Thirteen Prove Lucky?

Comments are closed.